Additional Coronavirus hotspots named with further nationwide restrictions to be implemented

Monday, December 14, 2020

President Ramaphosa's latest speech can be found HERE

The National State of Disaster has been extended until 15 January 2021.

In addition to the Nelson Mandela Bay Metro, the Sarah Baartman district and Garden Route district have been declared as coronavirus hotspots. A curfew between 10h00 pm and 04h00 am will come into effect for these metros and districts with immediate effect as of midnight, 14 December 2020.

Beaches and public parks in the Eastern Cape and Garden Route district will be closed between 16 December 2020 and 3 January 2021.
Beaches and public parks in Kwazulu Natal will be closed on 16, 25, 26 and 31 December 2020 as well as on 1, 2 and 3 January 2021.
Beaches and public parks in the Northern Cape and Western Cape will remain open.
Beaches and public parks permitted to remain open will do so between 9am and 6pm daily. Festivals and live performances are prohibited.

There will be stricter enforcement of level one restrictions with additional restrictions to be implemented nationwide as of midnight, 14 December 2020. These restrictions are:
• Curfew between 11pm and 4am.
• Non-essential establishments such as restaurants and bars must close at 10pm.
• The sale of alcohol is only permitted between 10am and 6pm from Monday to Thursday.
• The consumption of alcohol on public beaches or in public parks is strictly prohibited.

Should you have any questions, please contact your dedicated Travel Expert or contact us HERE
Further information related to COVID-19 and risk-adjusted strategies for South Africa can be found HERE

Please visit our Travel News website HERE for the latest traveller updates and news.